Digging for Habitat

So last week, I never really knew what I was getting into. Though it was not to say that I had feelings of revolt, I actually did not know that I was going to volunteer for Habitat for Humanity in one of their sites in Payatas, until I got an email from our boss saying that our presence was expected there.

So off we went to Payatas and helped out in making the foundation for the new houses, from digging soil to passing on hollow blocks. Because I haven’t read the volunteer’s manual beforehand, my get-up was almost everything I wasn’t supposed to be in when you’re going to work at a build site. I went there wearing slippers, no gloves, no hard hat. Thankfully there were extra hard hats at the site and some of our co-volunteers had extra gloves.

If it hadn’t been for the scorching heat, I think they would have let us stay past noon. But it was so hot already and I guess they didn’t want anyone passing out.

And so that on the left was me, working very, very hard. 😛

Leave a Reply

